top of page

Stages Of Sleep In Newborns

Here's a quick breakdown of the stages of sleep in newborns:

1.Active Sleep (REM Sleep): Newborns spend a significant amount of their sleep time in active sleep, also known as Rapid Eye Movement (REM) sleep. During this stage, their eyes move rapidly beneath their closed eyelids. Active sleep is characterized by irregular breathing, facial twitches, and occasional body movements. This stage is associated with brain development, memory consolidation, and learning.

2. Quiet Sleep (Non-REM Sleep): Quiet sleep, also referred to as Non-Rapid Eye Movement (NREM) sleep, is the other stage newborns experience. It is further divided into three sub-stages:

a. Quiet Sleep Stage 1: This is the lightest stage of sleep where newborns may exhibit some movements and startle easily.

b. Quiet Sleep Stage 2: In this stage, the newborn's breathing becomes more regular, and muscle tone decreases. It is a deeper stage of sleep compared to Stage 1.

c. Quiet Sleep Stage 3: This is the deepest stage of sleep where the newborn experiences the most restorative sleep. Heart rate, blood pressure, and respiratory rate are typically at their lowest during this stage.

Newborn sleep patterns are characterized by shorter sleep cycles, usually lasting around 50 minutes to an hour. They transition between active sleep and quiet sleep throughout these cycles. Newborns tend to spend a larger portion of their sleep in active sleep, and the amount of quiet sleep increases as they grow older.

It's important to note that newborn sleep patterns can vary widely and may not adhere to a strict schedule. They often wake up frequently for feeding, diaper changes, or comfort, and their sleep tends to be distributed throughout the day and night. Establishing a consistent sleep routine and creating a safe sleep environment can help newborns develop healthy sleep habits over time.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Preparing for a Home Birth

Bringing new life into the world is a beautiful, transformative & intimate experience. Choosing a home birth can provide a more personalized and comfortable setting. However, careful preparation is ke

Doula VS. Midwife - Everything you need to know!

A doula is a trained professional who provides emotional, informational & physical support to pregnant individuals and their partners before, during, and after childbirth. They focus on non-medical as

The Stages of Labour

Labour, also known as childbirth, is divided into three main stages: the first stage, the second stage, and the third stage. Each stage plays a crucial role in the process of delivering your baby. Fir


bottom of page